A Love Letter

Today is the two year anniversary of Mom’s death, which is hard to believe. Sometimes it seems like only yesterday, sometimes it seems like decade, but really, it’s only been 24 months. This year, instead of focusing on the loss and the grief, I’d like to write a love letter to my family and friends for all of the support they’ve given me these past two years.

To my Dad,

I know that we weren’t always close and I was an angsty, unreasonable individual, but when I called you, you were there, no questions asked. I don’t know if I’ll ever be able to express how much that means to me. I love you.

Step-Momma,

Even though I’ve not always welcomed it, you’ve always been there with open arms and I’m just now starting to take advantage of all the love you’ve been offering. Thanks for mothering me, even when I was a brat.

Eric,

The one memory that really stands out after Mom had passed and everyone left, is when you told me you were proud of me; hearing that really meant a lot and still does to this day. Also, I appreciate you calling and checking in on me, it’s good to know people care, sorry I’m awful about calling you.

Maggie,

I remember coming home and you were there and you’ve been there every day since, hugging me when I cry, making me laugh- I can only hope that I’m as good a friend to you as you are to me.

Brad,

You offered to take your vacation to help me take care of Mom when she was on Hospice, that earns you a forever place in my heart, whether you like it or not!

The rest of my friend group,

The grief package you put together really did help, as does your love and support. Seeing you guys several times a week really brings me a sense of peace and family I didn’t even realize was missing.

To my friends that I don’t get to see as often, it’s ok, we’ve moved to different places, and talking on the phone (well, texting, since I really dislike talking on the phone) really does count!

Sisters and Brother,

You guys have been amazing at accepting me and offering love and support. I’m looking forward to spending more time together at family get gatherings and holidays.

My family,

Your kind words and check-ins have not gone unnoticed, and I love hearing the stories from when Mom was younger, they really do make me smile.

In general, to everyone I’ve not mentioned specifically or who may fall outside of these groups, thank you for your support and love, it is appreciated more than you know.

I love you all.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Love Letter

  1. Teresa Ramsby says:

    Wonderful piece Symone – thanks for all you do for us!!

Leave a Reply

